Links

Reading and Writing:

Red Room (Myspace for books, so says the San Francisco Chronicle): http://www.redroom.com/ Please see me there: http://www.redroom.com/author/holly-shumas

Goodreads.com (connect with other booklovers): http://www.goodreads.com/ And to visit me there: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/708625.Holly_Shumas

Bookreporter.com (book club suggestions, guides, ways to connect with authors, etc.): www.bookreporter.com

Bookslut (features, reviews, interviews, blog, they got it all): http://www.bookslut.com/

To find an independent bookseller near you and support indies everywhere: http://www.indiebound.org/

Some of my favorite relationship books and ideas:

Esther Perel’s Mating in Captivity will get you thinking and talking about the challenges of long-term intimacy, which I think is a very good thing. http://estherperel.com/

I really like Dr. Schnarch’s method of sex therapy (which is also intimacy therapy, and overall growth therapy.)  He’s got books so you can try it at home, so to speak.  http://www.passionatemarriage.com/mt_schnarch.shtml

Sue Johnson, founder of emotionally-focused therapy, has a self-help book out now called Hold Me Tight. She says that we all need strong, secure bonds with our partners, and she has good ideas for how to get there. http://www.holdmetight.net/

To find a literary event, wherever you live:

Booktour  http://www.booktour.com/

Literary events if you’re in the San Francisco area:

Litquake (the uniquely San Francisco literary festival): http://www.litquake.org/

Inside Storytime (monthly reading series): http://www.insidestorytime.com/

Grotto Nights (quarterly series with readers and multimedia presentations around a particular theme): http://www.pobronson.com/GrottoNights.htm

Literary Death Match:
http://www.literarydeathmatch.com/Literary%20Death%20Match/Events.html

Porchlight Storytelling Series http://www.porchlightsf.com/

Writers with Drinks http://www.writerswithdrinks.com/

San Francisco Writers Workshop (A weekly drop-in workshop. You never know what you’re going to get, except for a warm, inclusive community.): http://www.sanfranciscowritersworkshop.com/

A good sampling of independent bookstores in San Francisco and surrounding areas (to find a book club near you, for readings, and more):

Books Inc. (multiple Bay Area locations) www.booksinc.net

Book Passage (in San Francisco and Marin) www.bookpassage.com

Booksmith (in San Francisco) www.booksmith.com

Green Apple Books (San Francisco) www.greenapplebooks.com

City Lights (San Francisco) http://www.citylights.com/

Bookshop West Portal (San Francisco)http://bookshopwestportal.com/

Black Oak Books (Berkeley) http://www.blackoakbooks.com/

Moe’s Books (Berkeley) http://www.moesbooks.com/moes/

Mrs. Dalloway’s (Berkeley) http://mrsdalloways.com/

Diesel bookstore (in Oakland) www.diesel.booksense.com

Great Good Place for Books (in Oakland) www.ggpbooks.com

Rakestraw Books (in Danville) www.rakestrawbooks.com

Bay Books (in Concord and San Ramon) www.baybooks.us

Towne Center Books (in Pleasanton) www.townecenterbooks.com

Orinda Books www.orindabooks.com

Lafayette Bookstore www.lafayettebookstore.com

Keplers Books (in Menlo Park) www.keplers.com

Copperfields (all over Napa and Sonoma counties) www.copperfields.net

Random stuff I like:

Overheard in NY (You hear the darnedest things in a city where everyone takes public transit.): http://www.overheardinnewyork.com/

Found magazine (Yep, it’s an entire magazine of found letters, notes, grocery lists, etc. Often achieves that magical combo of funny and sad all at once.)http://www.foundmagazine.com/

Mortified (people excavate their adolescent angst through diaries, journals, 8th grade notes, etc. and submit it for your viewing pleasure) http://www.getmortified.com/

For my curlyhaired compatriots (product reviews and an online store for frizz fighters you can’t find just anywhere): http://www.naturallycurly.com/